Hear Chick Corea and Steve Gadd Reunite with 'Chinese Butterfly,' on Radar

Jan 12, 2018

Chick Corea and Steve Gadd have a musical connection over 50 years deep. So when the iconic keyboardist and legendary drummer found time last year to reunite in the studio I immediately thought of Corea's albums The Leprechaun and My Spanish Heart, and the concert I hosted in Cleveland in 1981 featuring music from the Three Quartets, with Chick, Steve, Eddie Gomez and Michael Brecker. Some nights you’re so glad you showed up.

"Chinese Butterfly" CD Cover

Chinese Butterfly is the title of the new release from the The Corea-Gadd Band, featuring seasoned Corea favorite Steve Wilson on saxes and flute, Carlitos Del Puerto on bass, Luisito Quintero on percussion and Lionel Loueke on guitar and vocals.

Disc 1 has a funky feel on “Chick’s Chums,” while “Serenity” conveys a gorgeous feel for the islands, with Loueke’s guitar and voice and Wilson’s gorgeous flute the perfect guide for Chick’s piano and Gadd’s brushes. Disc 2 begins with “Return To Forever,” adding the vocal instruments of Loueke and special guest Philip Bailey for yet another layer. Two additional extended pieces complete this release.

Any Chick Corea exploration is a fine thing. To travel with a cat with such a fine tuned rhythmic sense makes it that more enjoyable.

  CD One::
1)   Chick's Chums
2)   Serenity
3)   Like I Was Sayin'
4)   A Spanish Song
5)   Chinese Butterfly   


1)   Return To Forever (feat. Philip Bailey)
2)   Wake-Up Call
3)   Gadd-Zooks