© 2024 WBGO
Discover Jazz...Anywhere, Anytime, on Any Device.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

‘Sun Ra's Journey’ by the Tyler Mitchell Octet featured on WBGO’s New Day, New Play Feb. 27 – Mar. 3

Tyler Mitchell and Marshall Allen
Tyler Mitchell and Marshall Allen

For those who missed the spirit of Sun Ra, either on record or in performance, you get a fresh opportunity with Sun Ra's Journey from the Tyler Mitchell Octet, featuring former Sun Ra saxophonist Marshall Allen. Part of the SmallsLIVE Living Masters Series, this 8-some features bassist Mitchell, saxophonist Allen, with trumpeter Giveton Gelin, tenor saxophonist Chris Hemingway, alto saxophonist Nicoletta Mancini, pianist Farid Barron, drummer Wayne Smith and percussionists Ron McBee and Elson Nascimento.

From Monday, February 27 through Friday, March 3, one cut from Sun Ra's Journey by the Tyler Mitchell Octet will be featured each morning on the New Day, New Play spotlight on my Daybreak show.

Preview “Cosmic Hop” from Sun Ra's Journey, above.