© 2022 WBGO
WBGO New Record Spine Header
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Watch The Year in Jazz: A Critics Roundtable, Live From the National Jazz Museum in Harlem


Organized and moderated by our own Nate Chinen, The Year in Jazz is a panel discussion about the music, the artists, and the moments that shaped jazz in 2018. Watch a live stream here, beginning tonight at 7 p.m.

This year’s distinguished panelists, representing a range of perspectives, are:

Kira Grunenberg Downbeat / No Depression / Off  Your Radar  
Kira Grunenberg is a freelance music journalist with a love for brick and mortar record shops. She’s contributed writing to the likes of DownBeat, No Depression, Off Your Radar Newsletter, and many a music start-up.

Ethan Iverson            New Yorker / Do The Math
Ethan Iverson is best known as a founding member of the Bad Plus, a group he left at the end of 2017. He has written extensively about jazz on his blog Do the Math; in the last two years Iverson has also published several pieces at the New Yorker Culture desk. In 2018 Iverson has continued long term relationships with Billy Hart, the Mark Morris Dance Group, and released a duo album with Mark Turner for the ECM label.

Matthew Kassel         New York Times Magazine / WSJ / JazzTimes
Matthew Kassel is a freelance writer whose work has been published by The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, JazzTimes, DownBeat and Slate.

John Murph                DownBeat / JazzTimes / AARP
John Murph is a Washington, D.C.-based music journalist and DJ. His writing has been featured regularly in Down Beat, JazzTimes, and JazzWise magazines; The Washington Post and The Washington City Paper newspapers; and on NPR Music. He contributed the essay, “Exploring the Queer Overtones of Sun Ra’s Outer Spaceways” for the Jazz Institut, Darmstadt’s 2016 scholarly collection, Gender and Identity in Jazz; and wrote essays on jazz and the Black Lives Matter Movement and Tyshawn Sorey, respectively for the Berlin Jazz Festival’s program books in 2016 and 2017.