Hear Guitarist Wes Montgomery in Rare Form on 'In Paris: The Definitive ORTF Recording'

Jan 19, 2018

Wes Montgomery was one of the world's most accomplished jazz musicians, beginning in his late teens. He went on to perform worldwide, with a catalog of recordings that had significant influence on just about every guitarist who followed.

Wes In Paris CD Cover

In Paris: The Definitive ORTF Recording is a double album recorded on March 27, 1965 during Montgomery's first and only concert in the City of Light. First released on vinyl last November, it will be released digitally and as a 2-CD set on January 26.

Wes appears alongside pianist Harold Mabern, bassist Arthur Harper and drummer Jimmy Lovelace, with special guest Johnny Griffin on tenor sax. As guitarist Russell Malone says in the superb notes that accompany any Resonance release: "This man is on some other stuff here from Paris! He stretched out, chorus after chorus with a sound that made you listen."

Wes In Paris : Disc 1
1)   Four On Six
2)   Impressions
3)   The Girl Next Door
4)   Here's That Rainy Day
5)   Jingles

Wes In Paris: Disc 2:
1)   To Wane
2)   Full House
3)   'Round Midnight
4)   Blue 'N' Boogie / West Coast Blues
5)   Twisted Blues