Listen Now to 'Beloved of the Sky,' the New Album by Pianist Renee Rosnes

Mar 30, 2018

With her new album, Beloved of the Sky, pianist Renee Rosnes is once again inspired by her natural environment.

Beloved of the Sky CD Cover

That's a subject with multiple implications: the natural world, her home life, an array of sense memories. They're all transformed by Renee’s depth of pianism, and through amazing exchanges with saxophonist and flutist Chris Potter, vibraphonist Steve Nelson, bassist Peter Washington and drummer Lenny White.

The musical expression is, as usual from Renee, quite varied — from all-out propulsive, as on the opening “Elephant Dust,” to the scorcher “Black Holes” to a beautiful treatment of “Rosie,” a tune Bobby Hutcherson wrote for his wife. As you’ll hear, Beloved of the Sky has a smart, soulful mix, with the absolute intelligence of Renee’s piano lines forming the map for all here to navigate.

1)   Elephant Dust
2)   Scorned as Timber, Beloved of the Sky
3)   Mirror Image
4)   Rosie
5)   Black Holes
6)   The Flame and the Lotus
7)   Rhythm of the River
8)   The Winter of My Discontent
9)   Let the Wild Rumpus Start