Hear 'Rain or Shine,' the Soulful New Album by Saxophonist Houston Person, on Radar

Nov 17, 2017

Houston Person possesses a huge tenor saxophone sound. When encountered live, he's guaranteed to leave you with some very PERSONal moments, more soul than you came with, more good feelings to take with you.

Houston Person on record is not much different. He's in the room, his horn singing those lyrics you know, or taking a funky field trip to 132nd and Madison. Soul jazz is so much richer because of his presence. On his new HighNote album, Rain or Shine, he's alongside pianist Lafayette Harris, bassist Mathew Parrish, guitarist Rodney Jones, drummer Vince Ector and longtime friend Warren Vache on cornet — wondering where the love has gone, promising our day will come, making a plaintive declaration that everything must change. Whether it's raining or shining, you believe this weatherman's forecast. 

1) Come Rain Or Come Shine
2) 132nd And Madison
3) Everything Must Change
4) Learnin' The Blues
5)  I Wonder Where Our Love Has Gone
6)  Soupbone
7)  Never Let Me Go
8)  Our Day Will Come
9)  Danny Boy