Fine Could Rise For Not Using Child Restraint Seats
By Phil Gregory, WBGO News
Trenton. September 28, 2012
New Jersey lawmakers are considering a big increase in the fine for failing to secure a child in a car safety seat.
New Jersey law requires that kids who are younger than eight and weigh less than 80 pounds be in a child passenger restraint system or booster seat.
The current fine for not doing that ranges from $10 to $25.
Assemblywoman Pam Lampitt is one of the sponsors of a bill that would raise the penalty to $100 for the first offense and up to $500 for additional violations.
“Under the age of 12 the single largest killer of our children are car accidents and that statistic itself is staggering and really draws our attention to why aren’t people doing what they’re supposed to be doing.”
The Assembly’s Transportation Committee has approved the measure that calls for $25 of each fine to be used to purchase child safety seats for people who can’t afford to buy them.
One member voted against the bill worrying the proposed fines are too steep.
© 2012 WBGO News
New York City Hall. May 20, 2013
Closing arguments are expected Monday in the landmark federal civil rights class action suit against the NYPD over its controversial stop-and-frisk practices. Read More
May 17, 2013
Tree pollen reaches peak, grass pollen will last several more weeks. Read More
May 17, 2013
Finding the job they want might take a while. Read More
New York City. May 16, 2013
Miles Davis is still making history more than 20 years after his death. Read More
May 16, 2013
The Newark Police department honored some of its officers today (Thursday) who have displayed courage in the line of duty. Read More