• Piano notes

    June 10, 2010. Posted by Becca Pulliam.

    10 06 10 Queen to MarianNote #1: On June 8, the Queen's official birthday, at a reception at Her Majesty's Consul General's Residence (near the UN), the Queen (not present) bestowed the honour of Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire upon Margaret Marian McPartland, who was present and seated under a good-sized Andy Warhol portrait of the Queen. Marian McPartland's Piano Jazz was noted in the presentation.

    Note #2: Sunday June13 at 6pm and Wednesday June 16 at 6:30 in a broadcast premiere on JazzSet, pianist Edward Simon - now a Guggenheim Fellow and member of the SF JAZZ Collective - presents his piece Sorrows and Triumphs . The performance by the septet Afinidad comes from the Walton Arts Center in Fayetteville, AR. David Binney is co-leader. The entire concert is really neat! Mystical and musical.

    David Binney at Afinidad rehearsal in Fayetteville
    David Binney at Afinidad rehearsal in Fayetteville

    The web extra piece at jazzset.npr.org is Simon's "Impossible Dream." Here's an excerpt with Gretchen Parlato vocals, Adam Rogers guitar, Scott Colley bass, Antonio Sanchez drums, Rogerio Boccato pc.

    Scott Colley
    Scott Colley

    Sorrows and Triumphs was created with support from Chamber Music America’s New Works: Creation & Presentation Program, funded generously through the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation.

  • Wayne Escoffery: Live at the Village Vanguard

    June 9, 2010. Posted by Joshua Jackson.

    Watch live streaming video from wbgo at livestream.com

  • Wayne Escoffery Quartet: Live At The Village Vanguard

    June 9, 2010. Posted by WBGO.

    Wayne Escoffery. (Image Credit: John Rogers for NPR/johnrogersnyc.com)

    A bright, energetic tenor saxophonist, Wayne Escoffery always plays with great feeling and fun. Often he does so as a sideman to modern jazz masters, but occasionally he gets the chance to lead his own, hard-swinging groups. With a quartet in tow, he made one of his biggest gigs yet when he stays a week at the Village Vanguard for the first time as a bandleader. NPR Music and WBGO were there to capture part of it, in a live on-air broadcast and online video webcast heard on this page at 9 p.m. ET Wednesday, Jun. 9.

    Escoffery's latest quartet record, 2009's Uptown, found him working out a variety of original tunes in the company and deep groove of an organ quartet. (His latest disc is a Tides Of Yesterday, a collaboration with vocalist Carolyn Leonhart, his wife.) But he went acoustic for his Vanguard residency, and called a number of attractive new originals — all in the spirit of friendly, modern post-bop — on Wednesday night's early set. Being his mother's birthday, he dedicated "Selena's Song" to her; in remembering the late pianist Hank Jones, Escoffery played Jones' ballad "Angel Face." Three veteran New York sidemen in pianist Kevin Hays, bassist Joe Martin and drummer Billy Drummond were along for the ride.

    Born in the U.K., Escoffery spent his adolescence in Connecticut. There, his budding talent was discovered by Jackie McLean, who offered him a full ride to his jazz program at the University of Hartford, leading to further study with the prestigious Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz. After moving to New York, Escoffery quickly found himself busy, notably in groups like the Mingus Dynasty bands, Ben Riley's Monk Legacy ensemble, Jazz at Lincoln Center-commissioned ensembles and those fronted by singers such as Leonhart.

    Perhaps his most visible role is alongside trumpeter Tom Harrell's outstanding straight-ahead quintet. NPR Music and WBGO actually recorded that ensemble at the Village Vanguard in 2009. But when Escoffery took the stage on Wednesday, it was his name atop the sign by the staircase.

    Set List

    • "Chick's Tune"
    • "If I Am, Who You Were"
    • "Selena's Song"
    • "Perilous Desires"
    • "Angel Face" (Hank Jones)
    • "Banishment Of The Lost Spirit"

    all compositions by Wayne Escoffery unless otherwise indicated


    • Wayne Escoffery, tenor saxophone
    • Kevin Hays, piano
    • Joe Martin, bass
    • Billy Drummond, drums


    • Josh Jackson, producer and host
    • David Tallacksen, mix engineer
    • Alex W. Rodriguez, recording assistant