• Warren Wolf + Lage Lund: Live From 92Y Tribeca

    November 16, 2011. Posted by Joshua Jackson.

    Warren Wolf (left) and Lage Lund. (Image Credit: John Rogers for NPR/johnrogersnyc.com)

    A vibraphonist from down the turnpike in Baltimore; a guitarist from across the pond in Norway. Both have dedicated themselves to hard-swinging jazz of the highest order, and both journeyed to downtown Manhattan to lead bands in the next installment of The Checkout: Live From 92Y Tribeca.

    Warren Wolf is best known as a vibraphonist — notably, on his 2011 self-titled album, and as the malletman in Christian McBride's Inside Straight band. Plenty of musicians know him also as a drummer or as a pianist; he's toured and recorded in both capacities. After studying, then teaching at Berklee College of Music in Boston, he moved back to Baltimore — the place where he met several of the musicians joining him on stage here.

    Lage Lund came to New York City in 2002 — after a stint at Berklee — and he quickly found his way into the jazz scene. His chops and vision won him the prestigious Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition in 2005. He's been able to lead more bands lately; in 2010, he issued Unlikely Stories, a disc of original tunes, followed up with a live trio set this year called Small Club, Big City. He brings a band of first-call New York musicians to the date.

    On Wednesday, Nov. 16, The Checkout: Live series paired the bands of Lage Lund and Warren Wolf in a double bill, in performance at 92Y Tribeca. The concert was broadcast on air via WBGO and in an online video webcast at this page on NPR Music, with a live online chat. For more information about this series and the full concert archive, visit npr.org/checkoutlive.

    Lage Lund


    • Lage Lund, guitar
    • Pete Rende, piano
    • Matt Penman, bass
    • Jochen Rueckert, drums

    Set List

    • "Truckstop Queen"
    • "Circus Blues"
    • "Circus Island"
    • "Party Of One"
    • "12 Beats"
    • "Strangely"
    • all compositions by Lage Lund

    Warren Wolf


    • Warren Wolf, vibraphone
    • Tim Green, saxophone
    • Lawrence Fields, piano
    • Kris Funn, bass
    • John Lamkin, drums

    Set List

    • "427 Mass Ave."
    • "Emily" (Mandel/Mercer)
    • "Peace" (T. Green)
    • "Señor Mouse" (Corea)
    • "How I Am Feeling At This Given Moment"
    • "Sweet Bread"
    • compositions by Warren Wolf unless otherwise noted

    Credits: Josh Jackson, producer and host. David Tallacksen, mix engineer. Simon Rentner, assistant.

    Note: These comment boards are available to the general public. Statements expressed in the comment boards do not necessarily reflect WBGO's views. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorsement of the views expressed within them. For more information, please read our Terms of Service.