• Dan Tepfer And Friends: Live At 92Y Tribeca

    June 22, 2011. Posted by Joshua Jackson.

    Dan Tepfer. (Image Credit: John Rogers for NPR/johnrogersnyc.com)

    The jazz pianist Dan Tepfer isn't yet 30, but he's quickly built a reputation for quality — versatility, too. Two years ago, he put out an album of improvised duets with iconic saxophonist Lee Konitz, who's about 55 years his elder. Last year, Tepfer issued Five Pedals Deep, an elegant and modern trio album. (It's his third trio record, actually.) Soon, he'll also release his readings of and improvisations on J.S. Bach's Goldberg Variations, originally written for solo harpsichord.

    In the debut of The Checkout: Live at 92Y Tribeca concert series, Tepfer showed off these three sides of his musical personality. He played selections from his Goldberg Variations solo. He also called upon his friend and peer, tenor saxophonist Noah Preminger, for a series of duos largely of the compositions of Lennie Tristano and Lee Konitz. (Konitz was originally scheduled to perform as the guest of honor, but had to bow out for health reasons.) And he played a sparkling set with his trio, with Joe Martin on bass and Ted Poor on drums.

    In association with Josh Jackson of WBGO's The Checkout, who curates and produces this series, NPR Music featured a live HD video webcast of this concert on Wednesday, June 22.

    Video Highlights

    Dan Tepfer, Improvisation on Goldberg Variation No. 20 + Aria

    (Credit: WBGO)

    Dan Tepfer & Noah Preminger, 'Thingin"

    (Credit: WBGO)

    Dan Tepfer Trio, 'Back Attya'

    (Credit: WBGO)


    • Dan Tepfer, piano
    • Noah Preminger, tenor saxophone
    • Joe Martin, bass
    • Ted Poor, drums

    Set List


    • Selections from and improvisations on J.S. Bach, Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

    Duo (with Noah Preminger)

    • "Thingin'" (Konitz)
    • "317 E. 32nd St." (Tristano)
    • "Body And Soul" (Heyman/Sour/Eyton/Green)
    • "Subconscious-Lee" (Konitz)


    • "All I Heard Was Nothing" (Tepfer)
    • "Le Plat Pays" (Brel)
    • "Back Attya" (Tepfer)
    • "Diverge" (Tepfer)
    • "The Distance" (Tepfer)
    • "Giant Steps" (Coltrane)
    • "Peal, Repeal" (Tepfer)

    Credits: Josh Jackson, producer and host. David Tallacksen, mix engineer. Michael Downes, assistant.

    Note: These comment boards are available to the general public. Statements expressed in the comment boards do not necessarily reflect WBGO's views. The inclusion of any links does not necessarily imply a recommendation or endorsement of the views expressed within them. For more information, please read our Terms of Service.